Catching up with former Editor-in-chief, Minhee Cho ’10

Minhee Cho ’10 was invited back to SU this past Homecoming weekend to take part in the first ever Asian Students in America (ASIA) Networking Event. Jennifer Cheng catches up with the fresh grad and picked her brain on advice for us alm0st-grads.

Tell me about your two internships and your responsibilities there.
I currently intern at the Crohn’s & Colitis Foundation of America, a large nonprofit headquartered in New York City, and Coburn Communication, a boutique PR firm in Times Square. Although the two organizations couldn’t be more different, they both enlisted me with very similar tasks, such as creating media lists, monitoring social media outlets and blogs, and pitching the media, and that’s what I love about PR.  You can use your skill set in any industry, no matter where your interests and passions lie. 

What advice would you give to us as a recent alum?
My advice is don’t panic.  You might think you’re behind on the job hunt (and you probably are), but no matter how early you start looking for jobs or how many times you update your resume, you can’t predict what’s going to happen when you get out into the “real world,” especially with the current state of the economy.  So don’t stress yourself to death about it!  Having a meltdown will only make friends (and recruiters) think you’re insane.  Instead, set realistic goals each week and network as much as you can.  People will take notice of your targeted job search and respect you for patiently going after what you want.  Besides, what’s the rush?  Once you start working, you won’t stop for the next 40-50 years, so try to have some fun in college while you can!  Honestly, it goes by too fast. 

What was it like coming back to campus as an alum?

Coming back to Syracuse was definitely surreal.  At first, I felt so old and out of place even though I had just graduated a few months ago, but then I ran into people who were on campus for their 50th class reunion, and realized SU pride never dies.  And why should it?  My time at Syracuse was handsdown the best four years of my life, and it played a big part in making me the person I am today. Expect to see me back on campus in 50 years, oxygen tank, wheelchair and all!

What did you do at the ASIA alumni event?
At the ASIA Networking Event, I was responsible for networking with the other attendees as well as current students and simply sharing about what I’ve been up to post-graduation.  As the youngest of the alumni attendess as well as the only one without a full-time job, I was admittedly a bit nervous.  Who would want to hear about my “success”?  But it turned out that there were a lot of seniors who wanted to learn about post-graduate internships and how I began networking and job hunting.  I was glad to offer my advice and it was great to know that I was helping students avoid many of my initial mistakes.  Thanks to the Office of Multicultural Affairs and ASIA for giving me the opportunity to do so! 

What are your goals for the future?
My goal, first and foremost, is to get a full-time job in the PR industry, specifically in the NYC market.  I’m actually in the process of applying to an executive training program with a large independent PR firm in NYC that I’ve fallen in love with.  Wish me luck! In the long run, I also hope to return to school to obtain my Masters in Public Administration (MPA).  Maxwell is ranked #1 by the U.S. News & World Report for that, so I might be back to SU before you know it!

Leave a Reply

